Apple has become better able to hide settings. We start to think that maybe it wasn’t the UX team’s accident or the lack of judgment. It looks like Apple has added a new location tracking service to the High Sierra. These are called important places. Important locations for macOS High Sierra songs where you’ve used your MacBook or iMac for a long time. The Photos application uses the information to organize it. It is possible that other applications will also use it. This allows you to disable important locations in macOS High Sierra.

This includes changing system security and privacy settings. So you need administrator privileges to disable important locations in macOS High Sierra.

Open System Preferences and go to Security and Privacy. Once inside, click the lock icon in the lower left corner and enter the administrator password when prompted.

Then go to the Privacy tab and click Location Services. A “Details” button appears next to System Services. Click on it.

Inside, you’ll see a list of system services and either “frequently used places” or “important places,” depending on what version you have. Just deselect to disable important locations in macOS High Sierra.

If you wish, you can leave the service on, but delete all the locations you have saved so far. To do this, click the “Details” button next to “Important Locations.” You will see a list of all the locations saved by MacOS. Click the Clear History button to delete all.

If you want to keep the service but know when it is active, activate the “Show location icon in the menu bar when system services request your location” option. Of course, that means you see an icon when one of the five system services listed uses your location. Some services, such as time zone and Find my Mac, aren’t likely to be used much, but location-based suggestions can use your location quite often.

This information is not synchronized with Apple servers. macOS only collects it to make the operating system work better on your system. In addition, Apple has a pretty good experience with user privacy. The only risk that this feature can pose is that your photos are tagged with location information and you unknowingly upload them online to Facebook, for example. Facebook not only stores all the metadata in a photo, but also tries to analyze and guess what’s inside. It is safe to say that you should not share such information on a social network for your own safety. If you usually delete metadata from your photos before uploading them, this feature can add them back.

About the author

admin

Leave a Comment